Senior Care News

5 Books For Grief and Loss

When a loved one dies, whether sudden or from a long term illness, there are a myriad of emotions experienced. Waves of overwhelming sadness may overcome you at the oddest of times, periods of peace knowing your loved one is no longer in pain may give you comfort, and even times of anger that they aren’t with you anymore. Some people find comfort in reading about other people’s journey through grief, and some may need help to get through grief, to understand it more. These 5 books might provide a source of comfort for you. Click on the title of the book for more information.

Healing After Loss: Daily Meditations For Working Through Grief is a page a day book that provides readings on loss, strength, inspiration and comfort.

In Permission to Mourn: A New Way To Do Grief, the author Tom Zuba, talks about his experience with suppressing grief and how that process actually created more pain for him. He teaches that once you give yourself permission to grieve, then you can process the pain and begin healing.

Healing a Spouse’s Grieving Heart: 100 Practical Ideas After Your Husband or Wife Dies offers suggestions for helping widowers or widows mourn.

A Grief Observed by CS Lewis reflects on the issues of life, death and faith in the midst of loss.

On Death and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through The Five Stages of Loss by Elizabeth Kubler-Ross, MD and David Kessler applies the five stages of death – denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance – to the grieving process.

Jimmie Stapleton

Recent Posts


Contact Us About Home Care

Skip to content